Notes are little transparent boxes that appear over an image. when you mouse over one of these boxes, text will appear.
When are notes used?
Most often, this text is a translation, offered to users who may not speak the language the image was originally posted with. Sometimes, notes are used to identify characters, or references, particularly in huge multi-fandom images that contain a great number of characters. Sometimes, notes are just a bit of something that someone wanted to add in, though generally, posting a note just for 'lols' is frowned upon--though you're welcome to post a comment instead.
Augh, these notes are annoying! I can't see anything...
If you left click on the image, away from any notes, all of the notes will be hidden, allowing you to view the image in blissful, uninterrupted peace!
Oh hey, cool! So how do I work these things?
To add a new note:
- On the left hand side, under 'options' there is text reading "Add translation". Click it!
- A box will appear mid screen: Adjust it's size and shape using the drag point in the lower right hand corner, and click and drag to move the box to where your translation needs to be.
Awesome, now you have a note, but with no content. Additionally, it's not saved yet, so, continue on to..
Editing a note:
- Move your mouse over the transparent note box... A yellow box should appear below the transparent box.
- Move the pointer down over the yellow box that appeared, and click on it. A large white box will appear.
- This is where you can type your text in!
Below the text field, there are 4 buttons:
- Save will save whatever changes you've made--editing text, moving and resizing the note, and actually creating the note itself. Make sure you hit this when you're done!
- Cancel will remove any changes you've made, or remove the box entirely if the note has never been saved.
- Delete, unsurprisingly, deletes the whole note, even if it's been saved before. Be careful!
- History will take you to the history for that note box, where you can see the changes that have been saved to the note since it was created.
When you have the edit box open, you can:
- Move the edit box around--helpful if you want to see under where the box pops up by default!
- Move the transparent note square around
- Adjust the size of the transparent note square.
Remember, none of your changes will be saved unless you hit save!
Recent note changes
With the recent note changes page, you can view the last few posts that have notes added to them, or had their notes edited, in a chronological order.
With the note history page, you can view the content of notes that have recently been edited. If the note has "(deleted)" at the end of it, that means the note was deleted.
You can view a user's note edits by clicking on the links in the "Note Edits" field on a user's page, or a post's note history by clicking on the "Notes" link in the History section on that post's page.
With the note search function, you can search through notes for specific text, whether deleted, active, or both.